Make a nomination today!

Click here for the form to send in your nominations. Feel free to re-nominate one of your choices from a prior year. All activists in our region are potential nominees, with the exception of those who presently serve on the WNPJ Board (click here to see who is currently on our board) or politicians who are currently in office. Simply answer the questions and submit your nomination. Nominations are accepted all year, and are due by August 31st, with recipients being recognized at the WNPJ Annual Fall Assembly in October or November. Feel free to contact us at 715-600-2766 or with any questions.

WNPJ Peacemaker of the Year Award

The Peacemaker of the Year Award presentations began in 2000. Members from across the region nominate peacemakers from their communities. A WNPJ committee makes the selection for three categories; youth, adult, and senior. The committee will be looking for peace and justice work done this last year. With so many worthy peacemakers, it is often difficult to choose. 

Past recipients

Grassroots Solidarity Award (NEW in 2021) – to the Buildling Unity Team.

WNPJ Dennis Bergren LGBTQ Advocacy Award

Help us recognize remarkable LGBT advocacy work across Wisconsin!

In 2011, WNPJ recongnized Dennis Bergren for his advocacy on behalf of LGBT prisoners. We’re looking for adults who have made significant contributions to the LGBT community in our state, especially over the past year. Nominations by individuals or groups are welcome, as are self-nominations. Nominations may be for work done as a volunteer or as paid staff. Nominations will be reviewed by WNPJ, GSAFE, OutReach LGBT Community Center and the Madison chapter of Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG).

In 2012, the inaugural recipient of the Dennis Bergren LGBT Advocacy Award was Kristina “kiki” Kosnick. Other recipients include Sharon Whitney (2013), Irene Toro Martinez and Melissa Charenko (2014), and T Banks and Alix Shabazz (2015)

WNPJ Lifetime Achievement Award

Periodically we present Lifetime Achievement Awards determined by the WNPJ Board. Multiple and frequent nominations are a factor in this decision.

Lifetime Achievement Awards have been given to Sam Day (2000), Clarence Kailin and Frank Zeidler (2002), Jim Missey (2003), Nan Cheney and Midge Miller (2004), Maureen McDonnell, OP (2005), George Paz Martin (2006), John LaForge (2007), Julie Enslow and John Kinsman (2008), Esther Heffernan, O.P. and Joe Elder (2009), The Madison Raging Grannies (2010), Fred Risser (2011), Rev. Joe and Joyce Ellwanger (2012), Al Gedicks (2013), John Peck and Mary Beth Schlagheck (2014), Joyce Guinn (2015), Steve Braunginn (2016 – video), Barb Munson (2017), and Bonnie Block (2021)

Make a donation to sponsor this Fall’s Assembly and Awards Reception!